Text to Speach Symbol
RSS Logo
University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust logo


UHBW celebrates exceptional contribution of colleagues at annual awards ceremony

Last updated: 26/04/2023

People are sitting on rows of chairs in front of the stage, where the awards are being presented.

The Recognising Success Awards returned for their 11th year as a celebration of the dedication, hard work and exceptional contributions of colleagues from across UHBW (University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust).

The annual awards give all staff the opportunity to recognise the extraordinary work of their colleagues, teams and volunteers around the Trust.

The awards event, which took place at Ashton Gate Stadium on Friday (21 April), was hosted by BBC Radio Bristol’s James Hanson and was the first in person since the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

A record-breaking number of nominations were received from staff - 1,124 in total - wanting to recognise the important contributions of their colleagues across nine award categories.

The evening also was an opportunity to celebrate colleagues who have reached their 30, 40, and 50 years of continuous NHS service milestone between 1 April 2020 and 31 March 2023. The total years’ service of the colleagues receiving awards adds up to an incredible 6,290 years’ service.

The awards were introduced by the Trust’s Chief Executive, Professor Eugine Yafele, who said: “Our Recognising Success Awards are so special, it’s not often we get the chance to celebrate our people in this way. I really do enjoy finding out about the wonderful work colleagues are doing, going beyond what’s expected of them, to improve the lives of patients and give them the best possible care and experience. 

“Seeing so many examples of dedication, innovation, and compassion is truly an inspiration, and I would like to congratulate each of our 2023 nominees and winners.”

Jayne Mee, Chair of the UHBW, said “‘It was a privilege to celebrate and recognise our wonderful staff and be together again post-pandemic to do so. I was particularly delighted to present the ECMO (Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation) Team and Mark Lyttle with the Chair’s Award. Both outstanding in their own right and very worthy winners. I hope everyone had great evening.”

A special Bristol & Weston Hospitals Charity Award was given to Emma-Louise Woods, Emergency Department Admin Team Leader, by representatives from the charity who have supported the awards since they were founded.

Paul Kearney, Chief Executive of Bristol & Weston Hospitals Charity, said: “Bristol & Weston Hospitals Charity is strongly committed to supporting the incredible work each and every member of NHS staff does every day for patients in Bristol, Weston and across the South West, which is why it is always such a pleasure to support these awards.

“It provides us with the chance to stop and take a moment to reflect on all the successes and commend the passion, dedication and hard work that goes on at our hospitals.”


The awards categories and their winners are:

Happiness Hero - Nicola Murphy (Senior Theatre Practitioner)

Inspirational Colleague - Dr Emma Stratton (Consultant Elderly Care Medicine)

Clinical Team of the Year - NHS @ Home

Non-Clinical Team of the Year - BHI Performance and Operations Team

Rising Star - Claire Pike (Supervisory Siter / Charge Nurse)

Innovation and Improvement - Imaging Hub Team 

Unsung Hero - Andy Lockyer (Consultant A&E)

Volunteer of the Year - Chris Wood

Chair Award – two winners

Mark Lyttle (Consultant Paediatric Accident and Emergency)

ECMO (Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation) Team

Bristol & Weston Hospitals Charity Award - Emma-Louise Woods (Emergency Department Admin Team Leader)