Text to Speach Symbol
RSS Logo
University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust logo


Meet our Board

Last updated: 01/06/2023

The Trust Board has overall corporate responsibility for the running of the organisation.  The main role of the Trust Board is to guide the overall strategic direction of University Hospitals Bristol and Weston (UHBW) NHS Foundation Trust including planning for our current challenges and future priorities - ensuring that we can set and meet our objectives. 

University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust (UHBW) is an authorised Public Benefit Corporation as defined by the National Health Service Act 2006 and is regulated by the Independent Regulator of NHS Foundation Trusts known as NHS England (used to be called Monitor).

As a Public Benefit Corporation, the Trust is required to comply with governance standards set out in the NHS Act, its Terms of Authorisation, the Foundation Trust Constitution, the Foundation Trust Code of Governance, and sundry other regulatory requirements.

The Trust is required to have a Board of Governors and a Board of Directors. At UHBW we call our Board of Governors the "Council of Governors".

The Board is made up of directors, including the chief executive, who are full time senior staff, together with an independent lay chair and non-executive directors who hold part-time positions. 

The executive directors bring expertise from their positions in key areas of the Trust, while the chair and non-executive directors offer their skills and experience from a wide variety of roles in the community.

The key Committees that feed into Board can be seen here and our Organisational Structure can be seen here.

Key publications such as Annual Reports, our Constitution and our Registers of Interests can be found on our Reports and Publications page.

Following the merger of University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust and Weston Area Health NHS Trust, the University Hospitals Bristol Board members below now lead the merged organisation, University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust (UHBW). The start dates below are for University Hospitals Bristol, prior to merger.

Meet our Vice Chair and Interim Chief Executive

Vice Chair: Martin Sykes

Martin studied chemistry at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne, where he obtained a PhD and spent a number of years working in post-doctoral research. He later qualified as an accountant and joined the NHS in 1995. Martin worked most recently at Frimley Health NHS Foundation Trust as finance director and deputy chief executive. Within the NHS Martin has also held executive responsibility for procurement; information management and technology; information governance; contracting; and strategy.
Martin is chair of the Finance & Digital Committee and vice chair of the Board.

  • Start date: 4 September 2017

Interim Chief Executive: Professor Stuart Walker 

Professor Stuart Walker is an experienced NHS Chief Medical Officer and previous Deputy Chief Executive. He has a background in a broad range of senior leadership positions and, as a prior Cardiologist of 18 years standing, significant senior clinical experience.

Before coming to UHBW in Feb 2022 he worked at Cardiff and Vale University Health Board as MD, Deputy CEO and then Interim CEO. He has also held prior Executive, and senior leadership, roles in the English NHS for example as MD at Taunton and Somerset NHS FT, and Chief Medical Officer at TSFT and Somerset Partnership FT. He was awarded the title of Honorary Professor by Cardiff University in 2021.

Stuart joined the Trust on 21 February 2022 as Chief Medical Officer and became Interim Chief Executive on 1st January 2024. 

Click here to find out about our UHBW Executive Directors and Non-executive Directors.