Text to Speach Symbol
RSS Logo
University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust logo


UHBW celebrates exceptional contribution of colleagues at annual awards ceremony

Last updated: 05/06/2024

The Recognising Success Awards returned for their 12th year as a celebration of the dedication, hard work and exceptional contributions of colleagues from across UHBW (University of Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust).

The annual awards give all staff the opportunity to recognise the extraordinary work of their colleagues, teams and volunteers around the Trust.

The awards event, which took place at the Ashton Gate Stadium on Friday 17 May, was hosted by BBC Radio Bristol's Joe Lemer.

A record-breaking number of contributions were recieved from staff - 1,428 in total - wanting to recognise the important contributions of their colleagues across eleven award catagories.

The evening also served as an opportunity to celebrate colleagues chosen by their divisions for their outstanding achievements. Additionally, it celebrated those who have reached milestones of 30, 40, and 50 years of continuous NHS service between April 1 2023 to March 31 2024. The total years of service of the long service award recipients amounts to an impressive 2,250 years.

A large group of staff are standing together at the awards ceremony after being recognised for their long service to the NHS.

The awards were introduced by the Trust’s Interim Chief Executive, Professor Stuart Walker who said:

“You should all be incredibly proud of your hard work and achievements – it's not always easy, but times like tonight remind us all why it’s worth it.

“It wouldn't be possible to deliver our services, without all of you, and all our colleagues who make up Team UHBW.

“I genuinely enjoy hearing about the remarkable work that takes place at UHBW. I see time and time again colleagues going beyond what’s expected of them, to give patients and their loved ones the best possible care and experience.

“This is why the Recognising Success Awards are so special – it’s not often we get the chance to celebrate our people in this way.

“Seeing so many examples of innovation and compassion is inspiring, and I’d like to congratulate each of our 2024 nominees and winners”.

Closing the awards Chief People Officer Emma Wood said:

“It’s my pleasure to close the awards tonight. Thank you for your all your enthusiastic support for all our colleagues’ receiving awards and accolades tonight.

“A huge personal congratulations to all our winners ‘shortlisted and of course all those who were nominated for an award. All 1428!

“2250 years of experience and contribution of our long service colleagues! Wow! Thank you from me and the board for your continued hard work making UHBW the place it is today.

“A very special thank you and recognition must go to Bristol & Weston Hospitals Charity not just for funding tonight but for their continued support for all of us.”

Paul Kearney, Chief Executive of Bristol & Weston Hospitals Charity, said: “As your NHS charity, we’re committed to supporting the outstanding work you do for your patients each and every day, which is why we’re delighted to support the Recognising Success Awards yet again.

“Because of our amazing NHS staff, we’ve been able to harness the power of collective kindness to make a real difference to your patients and their families. The Recognising Success Awards are a fantastic chance to reflect on your passion, dedication and hard work. Thank you for everything you do.”

The awards categories and their winners are:

Happiness Hero – Amy Slade (Paediatric Mental Health Practitioner)

Inspirational Colleague – Amanda Clark (Consultant Haematologist)

Clinical Team of the Year - A522

Non-Clinical Team of the Year – Estate & Facilities People & Onboarding team

Rising Star – Sarah Atherton (Lead Orthopaedic Practitioner)

Innovation and Improvement – Maternal Loss and Trauma Midwives

Unsung Hero – Linda Hodgkinson (Dementia and Falls Support Worker)

Volunteer of the Year - Emma Stuart (Senior Staff Nurse)

Chair Award – Julie Cloake (Research Nurse)

Outstanding Healthcare Support Worker – Heather Rudge (Senior Healthcare Support Worker)

Bristol & Weston Hospitals Charity Award - Natalie Fineman (Lead Nurse for Research)